This is a freedom that I am not sure that I have practiced.  I think I have had this available to me, just that I have not practiced it.  Recently a couple of events have transpired to bring this to my attention . . . 

First was a deep pleasure in reading Ann Voskamp's book, "One Thousand Gifts".  She talks of living thankfully. 

Second was a deep disappointment in not being allowed to participate in worship as I had previously.  Along with this disappointment was a wound inflicted by people around me.  

At about this same time I seemed to repeatedly be focused (through other's words and emails and through God's touch on my heart) on God's requirement to "count it all joy."  

In order to "count it all joy" there must be praise.  How can I consider it joy if I am not praising God in whatever it is?  I don't think I can.  Can I count it all joy if I am not living thankfully?  With thanksgiving there is praise to God.  

Thus, I begin this journey.
