Just finished reading From Worthless to Worthy by Julie Morris. 

 

I am learning to accept Jesus’ living water, His giver of life.   Mrs. Morris said that someone told her “don’t push the river.”  I can see how I push the river – try to decide where Jesus’ living water is going to take me.  If it isn’t taking me where I want to go then I try to realign it. 

 

In the “old days”, ranchers would build dams, dynamiting or cutting trees, to realign the streams and small creeks to make the water go where they wanted it to.  I can see how I do the same, putting up road blocks where Christ is sending me when I don’t want to go where He sends me.  He wants me to go speak in “wherever”.  I say I can’t – no money for gas, can’t trust the truck to get me to there.   He wants me to teach Sunday School .  I am not learned enough.  I don’t have time enough. 

 

Comes to my mind that I am also afraid to get “on the river”, get in the boat and see where it takes me. 

 

Can I just trust that Jesus’ living water is the water that will give me life – drink, drink freely, go, go freely, He is enough and His plan is for my best. 

 

Don’t just sit by the river – get in, let it take me where He would have me go. 

