Do Not Fear, Grandma

What a treat I received today. Our grandson is four years old and goes to a 4K program at a Christian School. At the beginning of the school year, they have a Grandparent’s Day. I got to attend today! What a treat it was.

Apparently, the school chooses a verse to use, all year, for the children to learn, this year they have chosen :

2 Timothy 1:7 New King James Version (NKJV)
7 For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.

This is a good verse and interestingly enough one dealing with fear; a subject that many bloggers and speakers I have read and heard lately have focused on many times. This is in fact a subject near to my heart, for I live in fear(s). There are so many things I am afraid of: loss of loved ones, recurrence of cancer, financial concerns, etc. The list could go on and on but this is sufficient for you to know what I mean. So when the children on stage recited 2 Timothy 1:7 it was as if God was telling me – if they can learn this verse so can you. So, I am writing this verse on a card and memorizing it.

As if this was not good enough, I looked up 2 Timothy 1:7 in “The Message.” As you may know, sometimes the message goes out and “grabs” other verses to create a smooth transition.

2 Timothy 1:7 The Message (MSG)
5-7That precious memory triggers another: your honest faith-and what a rich faith it is, handed down from your grandmother Lois to your mother Eunice, and now to you! And the special gift of ministry you received when I laid hands on you and prayed-keep that ablaze! God doesn’t want us to be shy with his gifts, but bold and loving and sensible.

In this case, this was wonderful, and I felt that it was God’s way of reinforcing what He had said earlier with the first translation. Now He is including Timothy’s Mom and Grandma . . . why that was today. Grandma, Mom, and Grandson all included in God’s message.

What a blessing! Doesn’t God just rock our world!

