Sacrifice of Praise

 

I am studying through the Psalms with Wendy Pope (http://wendypope.org/psalm-study/. I am a bit behind as I am only on Psalm 13.  While I am behind Wendy, I am right where God wishes me to be.  Today I listened to her comments on Psalm 13, where David is asking God “How long wilt thou forget me, O Lord? for ever? how long wilt thou hide thy face from me?” (Psalm 13:1, KJV)

 

I am in a season of “how long” and have been for what seems like forever.  Today’s lesson came just at the right time in God’s time.

 

One of the things that really spoke to me today was to bring a “sacrifice of praise” in the midst of our “how long.”  How difficult it is to bring a sacrifice to God.  He laid out for the Israelites the sacrifices they were to bring and He was very specific.  These sacrifices were the first fruits not the left-overs.  I realized that in the midst of my “how longs” a sacrifice of praise is just as difficult, perhaps more so, as a first fruit of my labor.  First fruits of my labor are technically outside of my body.  A sacrifice of praise must come from inside my heart.  This is of the most difficult of gifts.  To bring a sacrifice of praise . . . I shall do this in the midst of my “how long” . . . coming from inside surely will turn my face back to God.

 

